Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR)

The Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) is an informal and voluntary partnership among 35 countries to prevent the proliferation of missile and unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) technology capable of carrying a 500 kg payload for at least 300 km.

MTCR was established in April 1987 by the G7 countries: Canada, France,Germany, Italy, Japan, Great Britain, and the United States.

The People’s Republic of China is not a member of the MTCR but has agreed to abide by the original 1987 Guidelines and Annex, but not the subsequent revisions. In 2004 China applied to join the MTCR, but members did not offer China membership because of concerns about China’s export control standards.

In 2002, the MTCR was supplemented by the International Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation(ICOC), also known as the Hague Code of Conduct, which calls for restraint and care in the proliferation of ballistic missile systems capable of delivering weapons of mass destruction, and has 119 members, thus working parallel to the MTCR with less specific restrictions but with a greater membership.

Subscribing to ‘The Hague Code of Conduct’ (HCOC) against ballistic missile proliferation, which is considered to be complementary to the missile technology control regime (MTCR), India is the newest member of MTCR with consensus of the current 34 nations. India applied for the (MTCR) in the year 2014 and has been made member on June 2016.

5 thoughts on “Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR)

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s